Home > Guthrie Football > 11 BlueJays take 5A-2 district honors on the gridiron

11 BlueJays take 5A-2 district honors on the gridiron

Bookmark and Share

The Guthrie Football program was well represented on the 5A-2 all-district teams, including player, offensive and defensive players of the year.

L'liott Curry brings in a catch and makes a move on a Duncan defender. Photo Courtesy of Jarrett George.

L’liott Curry brings in a catch and makes a move on a Duncan defender. Photo Courtesy of Jarrett George.

Each school (Guthrie, Carl Albert, Deer Creek, McGuinness, Piedmont, Western Heights, Guymon and Southeast) was represented by their head football coach to make the selections. The teams were open to seniors only and each coach could not vote for their own players.

Taking the Player of the Year was Guthrie’s two-way star L’liott Curry. The wide receiver and defensive end was huge on both sides of the ball. The play maker finished with 50 catches for 802 yards and seven touchdowns. On defense, where teams often avoided running the ball to his side, collected 67 tackles, one interception and a team high 13 sacks.

Linebacker Beau Davis was named the Defenisve Player of the Year. Davis, the inside anchor that held BlueJay opponents to just 40 yards rushing, finished his senior campaign with a team high 137 tackles along with a sack and interception. For his career, Davis finished with 332 tackles and eight sacks.

Sharing the Co-Offensive Player of the Year is running back Idae Alexander, who shares the honor with Carl Albert’s Dillon Lohr.

Guthrie running back Idae Alexander.

Guthrie running back Idae Alexander.

Alexander piled up a school record 2,072 yards and 23 touchdowns. No other BlueJay has rushed over 2,000 yards in a single season. The work-horse averaged nearly 173 yards per game and finishes his three-year career with 3,783 yards and 48 touchdowns.

Two BlueJay lineman, Andrew Woods and Conan Maltz, made the district’s offensive first-team. The duo helped lead the Jays rushing attack that averaged 237 rushing yards and over 37 points a game.

On defense, two BlueJays earned first-team honors with Jeremy Wallis and Kelyn Hinds.

Wallis came on strong in his senior year with 60 tackles and five sacks.

Hinds was a defensive magnet in the categories of tackles and interceptions. Hinds collected six interceptions to lead Class 5A and finished with 82 tackles.

On special teams, Nathaniel Luevano was first team as he belted four field goals (39 long) and 50 point after attempts.

Tyler Coonfield and Samad Weston were second team defensive selections and earning honorable mention was offensive lineman Hagen Wano.

Player of the Year: L’liott Cury – Guthrie
Defensive Player of the Year: Beau Davis – Guthrie
Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Idae Alexander – Guthrie and Dillon Lohr – Carl Albert
Lineman of the Year: Cody Young – Western Heights
Special Teams Player of the Year: Braden Roy – McGuinness
Ironman Player of the Year: Nate Christmon

First Team Offense

QB Lucas Richert – Piedmont
RB Gerard Giles – Western Heights
WR Kadell Nguyen – Carl Albert
WR Rudy Thompson – Western Heights
WR Steffen Funkhouser – Piedmont
TE Jacob Seaton – McGuinness
OL Andrew Woods – Guthrie
OL Conan Maltz – Guthrie
OL Jonathan Murillo – Western Heights
OL Tanner Fialkowski – Deer Creek
OL Colton Hodge – Deer Creek
K Nathaniel Luevano – Guthrie

First Team Defense

DL Quentin Gentry – Carl Albert
DL Kendric Watson – Carl Albert
DL Jeremy Wallis – Guthrie
DL Caleb Maloney – Piedmont
LB Jennings Jarman – McGuinness
LB Grant Scherber – Deer Creek
LB Terry Viney – Western Heights
DB Keyln Hinds – Guthrie
DB Bren Ghoram – Carl Albert
DB Chase Skelton – McGuinness
DB Bryson Bowers – Deer Creek

Second Team Offense

QB James Lewis – Western Heights
RB Kiwanis Ros – Deer Creek
WR De’Quante Metoyer – Western Heights
WR Justin Humphrey – Carl Albert
TE Levi England – Piedmont
OL Tate Gamble – Carl Albert
OL Zach Graves – Southeast
OL Zach Tillotson – McGuinness
OL Riley Eden – Deer Creek
OL Dom Perrault – McGuinness

Second Team Defense

DL Tyler Coonfield – Guthrie
DL Juan Hill – Deer Creek
DL Eli Lopez – Southeast
DL Dryden Abla – Piedmont
LB Kyle Stagner – Western Heights
LB Colby Bricker – Piedmont
LB Zach Combs – Southeast
DB Jesse Carpenter – Guymon
DB Samad Weston – Guthrie
DB Jack Baze – McGuinness
DB Malik Muhammad – Carl Albert

Categories: Guthrie Football
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: