Home > Guthrie News > Obama declares Logan County a disaster

Obama declares Logan County a disaster

Bookmark and Share

Logan County and five other Oklahoma counties have been declared a major disaster by President Barack Obama.

The declaration came on Monday, and according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency, federal aid is now available. The aid comes in grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs.

Canadian, Delaware, Grady, Kingfisher and McClain counties were named to the disaster area after tornadoes and other severe weather hit the state in late May.

Unemployment payments are available for up to 26 weeks for those who lost jobs because of the disaster and who do not qualify for state benefits, and crisis counseling for those affected by the disaster.

Individuals and business owners can now begin applying for federal assistance by registering at http://www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling (800)621-3362.

Categories: Guthrie News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: