Home > Guthrie News > Governor asks White House for disaster relief

Governor asks White House for disaster relief

Bookmark and Share 

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin asked the White House, on Sunday, to approve a major disaster declaration for seven counties, including Logan County, impacted by last weeks tornadoes.

The other six counties include Caddo, Canadian, Delaware, Grady, Kingfisher, and McClain counties. Although there were no deaths in the Guthrie area, the storms claimed the lives of 10 in the tornado outbreak.

If granted, Oklahomans who suffered uninsured storm-related damage in the seven counties would be eligible for assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs.

Earlier this week, Fallin issued a state of an emergency for 68 of the 77 Oklahoma counties that still remains in effect.

The Oklahoman contributed to this story.

Categories: Guthrie News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: